top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAndrea

Week 1 Reflection

Finishing off my first week in Japan, a country I only dreamed of visiting for so long, feels…amazing! I am so happy to have made it through my first week and I am so excited about what is still to come. However, I must say this week has been a lot to take in and process as many things range on a spectrum from expected to complete culture shock.

Starting with the delicious food and meals I have enjoyed in Japan I have to say that there are not many options for vegetarians or vegan in the smaller neighborhoods of Tokyo. I have also noticed that the fresh produce in Japan is quite pricey perhaps because of the need to import goods as Japan is mainly a fishing country that doesn’t have the land suitable to grow as many crops. Surrounding meals and food I have also encountered some societal rules such as not eating while walking. I believe this could potentially stem from the valuation of food and the fact that eating a meal is done in a manner that shows appreciation both for the food and those that played a part in preparing it. This brings me to the fact that there is no to go boxes is Japan which to me was a bit of a shock considering that one is expected to eat everything and not waste food. On the other hand, this seems a lot more reasonable in Japan compared to the United States because I have noticed a trend in serving sizes being smaller here in Japan.

Next, the journeys to our many excursions, the train stations were unlike anything I have ever seen. This is most definitely one of the things I have yet to get used to, there are just so many people both in the trains and stations. This speaks to the advancement and well-developed train system in Japan that makes it so accessible and reliable for the public. There is also a sense of organization present in the chaos that could be the train stations because while there may be many people everyone seems to know where they need to go and hoe to get there. Signs are clearly marked if you are aware enough to look and trains are always on time something that is not always true for the public transportation systems in Japan. This organization I and punctuality I think speaks to the Japanese way of looking out for others and acting in a manner that is not disruptive, and a late train would be a define disruption to several members of society.

Another thing that I have been thinking about which has made me reflect on my own actions is the level of politeness and formality that there is in Japanese culture. Even in when entering a convenience in Japan there is always a welcoming greeting. And while I do not know enough Japanese to understand what exactly the workers are saying I understand the notion of it. In some instances, there are even those in customer service jobs that will bow slightly, which is not something I am accustomed to coming from the United States, especially Seattle. Even when entering an elevator and exiting an elevator there is some dialogue coming from individuals often with a slight bow that while I do not understand it, I take to mean thank you or something similar. These interactions have made me think of my own actions and my desire to fit in and not disturb the surroundings and the country I am visiting. However, I have come to realize that it is difficult to adjust in some of the smaller aspects of daily life that I have not ever paid much attention to. Some of these things are noise levels and

There is also a surprising connection with tradition, and it is striking to see how well rooted some traditions are. For example, the art of packaging that is present everywhere be it at a convince store or the gift shops in stations. One of the most noticeable examples of tradition is the practice of religion. I noticed with the Waseda students which I believe make up some of the most advanced and globalized individuals in Japanese society are aware of traditional practices. When we arrived at the Shrine near Waseda University no one knew what type or the name of the shrine, but to my surprise, every single student knew exactly what the practices were when visiting a shrine. This to me demonstrated that duality of Japan becoming and pushing to become a globalized modern country but the strong connection it still holds with Japanese traditions and wanting to maintain a strong Japanese identity. I could not be happier with all the new experiences I’ve had and the people I have been so lucky to encounter. Looking forward to week 2!




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Gender Narratives

What I found interesting in the process of the domestic violence law was the very grassroots beginning of the movement that became a law...

Comments


bottom of page